Changing price plan is easy even once billing has begun. You are able to both upgrade or downgrade plan that you’re currently on. This can be easily done through My Plans section of your admin dashboard like in the picture below 👇


Couple of points worth mentioning:

  • When changing plans and staying on month-to-month billing, changes will occur immediately, billing date will stay the same and the amount billed will be pro-rated. Since we're using Stripe to handle our payments, you can find more on how Stripe prorates billings here or in the example further below 👇
  • When switching to annual billing plan, annual billing will take place instantly (year will be started that very moment), and the amount billed will also be pro-rated taking in account time passed from start of the month up to the point of change.
  • If you are on a free trial, switching plans will not result in immediate termination of trial period and billing won't begin straight away. That said, you're able to juggle between pricing plans even while on trial. 🤹‍♀️

What add-ons are currently available?

There are some features that we currently offer that are charged extra. You can find the list of the features and can request to add them to your account from the My Plans section of your admin. 


Couple of points worth mentioning:

  • when adding the add-on feature when you're already subscribed to an annual plan on Subbly, add-on price will be prorated and will be charged until the end of the year to align the payment with the regular renewal date for the actual subscription
  • any discount that applies to the base price of the subscription is not applicable when calculating the price of an add-on
  • we're currently not offering any trial period for testing add-on capabilities, but we'd be more than happy to answer any questions that you might have 🤓
  • once added, you can opt out and disable feature that was previously added to your Subbly account, just make sure to contact our support team and we'll get it sorted in no time!

❗ If you're on one of the old plans (Startup, Launch, Grow, Scale...) you won't be able to add or use recently added features. In order to become eligible to use them, you'd need to switch to one of our current pricing plans. In order to do this, kindly contact our support team and let them know on the situation ❗


How pro-rating works (example)

In order to understand how pro-rating works, here we have some examples from Stripe:

For example, say the customer is billed on the 1st of each month and that he decided to change his pricing plan exactly halfway through the plan’s billing cycle (i.e., on the 15th of April). In that case, the customer has already paid $10, and used half of the current billing cycle. When the customer switches to the new plan, with a cost of $30, the unused portion of the previous plan results in a credit of $5. The cost of the new plan for the rest of the billing cycle (i.e., the rest of April) is $15. Therefore, the total prorated cost of switching from the cheaper plan to the more expensive plan is $10. This amount is added to the next invoice.

The next invoice, on May 1st, also reflects the payment required on the new plan for that upcoming month: $30. Thus, the May 1st invoice is for a total of $40.

The customer is not billed the $40 at the time the plans are switched. The plan change impacts the next invoice, which remains on the same billing cycle (as both plans have the same billing interval).

As another example, say a customer is halfway through a monthly plan that costs $30 per month and is switched to a yearly plan that costs $300 per year. The customer is credited $15 for the unused portion of the monthly plan and owes $300 for the first year of the new plan. The customer is invoiced—at the time of the switch—$285, and the annual billing cycle begins that day.

When the new plan is less expensive than the current plan, the prorated credit is larger than the new amount due. For example, if the customer switches from the $30/month plan to the $10/month plan exactly halfway through the billing cycle, the customer receives a net credit of $10: a credit of $15 for the unused portion of the old plan less a charge of $5 for the remaining time on the new plan. The next invoice, at the start of the next billing period, reflects the $10 credit and the $10 due for a full, upcoming month on the new plan, resulting in a net amount due of $0.

When credits are created, they’ll continue to apply to subsequent invoices until the credit is covered and payment is due again. For example, a move from a $50/month plan until a $10/month plan—exactly halfway through the billing period—results in a net credit of $20: a credit of $25 for the unused portion of the more expensive plan and a debit of $5 to pay for the remainder of the billing period on the new plan. The next two invoices would net to $0.